During our collaboration meeting in November this year the collaboration board nominated one candidate for the position of our spokesperson and one candidate for the deputy position.

Spokesperson candidate

Klaus Peters, GSI:

Deputy spokesperson candidate

Tord Johansson, Uppsala University:

Have a look at his CV Have a look at his CV

Information on the Procedure

  • The Vote on the PANDA Spokesperson and PANDA Deputy Spokesperson takes place electronically in November and December according to the PANDA Governance Rules.
  • The electorate are all official members of PANDA with a university degree and a PANDA membership of at least one year as reported by the institute heads.
  • Please check the PANDA electorate list whether you are in (login required).
  • Please note that a quorum of 50% of registered voter has to be reached for the election to be valid.

Instructions for voting

  • To vote, access the PANDA Vote form on this site by logging in using your personal GSI web login.

    To the vote. The election is CLOSED and the results will be communicated soon.

    If you are not already logged in, follow the link above and you will be asked for your user credentials and on successful login you will be redirected to the ballot page. If you are already logged in, you can access the polls via menu item "Ballot paper" as well.

  • If you forgot the password of your GSI web login you will have to get it reset via http://www-oracle.gsi.de/pls/gsi/A_ADMIN.p_reset_OID
  • Please vote between Nov 7th 2018, 18:00h CET and Dec 16th 2018, 12:00h CET. Before and after that period the link given above will not work.
  • You have then accessed the ballot page, where you can mark your vote. You may accept the candidates selected by the Collaboration Board as PANDA Spokespersons or not accept or abstain.
  • Your vote is anonymous. You can only vote once.

In case of technical problems contact the PANDA office.

Good news for all PANDAs! The "Expert Committee Experiments" (ECE) of FAIR, which is responsible for the technical review of the FAIR experiments, has recommended two more PANDA Technical Design Reports (TDRs). A TDR describes in detail in which way a detector component will work and shows a way how to build it.

Our list of accepted TDRs has been increased by "Technical Design Report for the PANDA Forward Tracker" and "PANDA Forward Time of Flight detector (FToF wall)" to a total of 11 . A "very big thank you" to all who have worked hard to achieve this: System manager Jerzy Smyrski and the groups in Cracow (AGH, UJ, PK), Darmstadt (GSI), Ferrara (INFN) and Giessen (JLU) for the Forward Tracker, which you can see on the picture with the dark background, and system manager Stan Belostotski and the St Petersburg group (PNPI) for the FToF detector, which is shown on the picture with the white background.
Furthermore, two additional TDRs are at the ECE for review, the Luminosity Detector TDR submitted in spring 2016 and the Endcap Disc DIRC TDR submitted in summer 2018.

The first octant of the PANDA Solenoid Magnet yoke is completed at Sibelectrotherm, Novosibirsk, sub-contractor of Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics!

The yoke will consist of an 8-piece barrel, four doors and a support platform with holding frame. It will be approx 6 m x 5 m x 8 m large and the total weight will be about 360 t. In PANDA it will serve as flux return of the 2 Tesla superconducting solenoid magnet and as absorber for the detection of muons. Installation at FAIR is planned to start at the end of 2021.

On the photo from left to right:
Denis Fadeev, head of BINP quality control group;
Evgeniy Pyata, BINP, PANDA Solenoid project leader;
Jost Lühning, GSI, PANDA Lead Engineer;
Lars Schmitt, FAIR/GSI, PANDA Technical Coordinator;
Victor Kravchenko, Sibelectrotherm deputy director.

(Photos: Lars Schmitt)



Prof. Dr. Herbert Löhner (Photo: Udo Kurilla/GSI) is active in PANDA since the early days and contributed in a countless number of activities to bring the project forward.
Born in 1947 in Rietberg, Germany, he did his physics studies at the University of Münster and he obtained his PhD in 1978 from that University as well. During his habilitation time he was detached to Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in the US where he worked in the field of ultrarelativistic heavy-ion reactions. In 1988, he started as an associated professor at KVI in Groningen and he became professor in 1993 with a special interest in the field of hadron physics, but also very active in other fields of (applied) physics, such as medical and astroparticle physics. Herbert Löhner is a well-known expert and pusher of state-of-the-art technologies for large-scale experiments. In PANDA, he is well known as one of key players behind the design and readout of the forward end cap of the EMC, a subdetector of PANDA that will likely be the first one completed.
He served in PANDA also in a varietey of committees, boards, as well as in scrutiny and review groups since today and was always focussed to the timely realization of the project with constructive and practical input.
In recognition of his engagement and achievements, the PANDA collaboration awarded to him the "PANDA Honorary Lifetime Membership" for his "Outstanding Service to the PANDA Collaboration and the Field of Hadron Physics".
The certificate and the medal were presented by the PANDA Spokesperson on June 6, 2018 at the Festive Dinner at the recent PANDA Collaboration Meeting in Stockholm. The laudatory speech was given by Johan Messchendorp (Rijksuniversiteit Groningen) who has been working with Herbert Löhner since his PhD in a variety of projects.

Dr. Antje Peters (Photos by: on the left - Udo Kurilla, GSI; on the right- Antje Peters, private) has received the Panda Theory PhD Prize 2018 for her doctoral thesis at the Goethe University in Frankfurt. The award was presented at the most recent Panda Collaboration Meeting in Stockholm by the spokesperson Klaus Peters (GSI/U Frankfurt) and Stefan Leupold (U Uppsala) as the representative of the Panda Theory Advisory Group.

Physicist Antje Peters, 27, received the prize of €200 and a certificate for her dissertation titled "Investigation of heavy-light four-quark systems by means of Lattice QCD". Her doctoral advisor was JProf. Dr. Marc Wagner from the Goethe University in Frankfurt.

The Panda Collaboration has awarded the Theory PhD Prize for the first time in order to honor the best theory dissertation written in connection with the Panda Experiment and its science program in the last year. Panda will be one of the key experiments of the future accelerator center FAIR. The experiment focuses on antimatter research as well as on various topics related to the weak and the strong force, exotic states of matter, and the structure of hadrons. More than 500 scientists from 20 countries currently work in the Panda Collaboration.

Candidates for the PhD Prize are nominated by their doctoral advisors. In addition to being directly related to the Panda Experiment, the nominees’ doctoral degrees must have received a rating of “very good” or better. Up to three candidates are shortlisted for the award and can present their dissertations at the Panda Collaboration meeting. The winner is chosen by a committee that is appointed for this task by the Panda Collaboration. The Panda Collaboration awards the Theory PhD Prize to specifically honor students’ contributions to the Panda project and to highlight the importance of cooperation with theory groups.



Subscribe to PANDA Website RSS